IMG_0021

This past weekend 3 of my friends from California flew over to Chicago to visit.  I had feared that it would be too cold for them, but they must have brought the sunshine of Southern California within their hearts because this weekend was the warmest it has been in a long time.  All the snow melted and it was beautiful.

If I were to summarize what we did in Chicago, it would be that we ate a lot.  We ate deep dish pizza at Lou Malnati’s, went to Shake Shack burgers for dinner, bought donuts at Firecakes (which we ate for early morning snack the next day), ate brunch at Yolk, dinner at Xocos, brunch at the Purple Pig, and a second brunch at Wildberry.  But somehow the most frequent place we visited was Garrett’s popcorn shop and Walgreens (I found out that Walgreens’s headquarters is in Chicago and therefore there is a Walgreens store everywhere!).  Somewhere during all the food we went shopping, I got Snapchat, went to the natural history museum, lost all the data on my phone, took a morning walk/run along the Chicago river, found the statue of Benito Juarez, etc.

I won’t go into detail about everything we did because what we did really doesn’t capture the happiness that I felt during those couple days.  It was just so cool to have my hometown friends that I’ve known since middle/high school just randomly fly over during my spring break just to hang out in Chicago.  For those 3 days they helped me forget about all my problems and thrive in the every minute of the present.  It’s incredible how you can find escape from stress when you’re with friends.  Who needs drugs when you have friends?

Anyways, I just wanted to brag about what cool friends I have and how lucky I was to have them in Chicago for those precious few days.

 

Simeon Koh

