Sorry for not faithfully keeping up with my commitment to blog every week.  Last last week I was freaking out over my exams and this past week I was on fall break, but so very busy adventuring, which I’ll tell you about.  This past week of not having school was like gold.  It’s like all my social life I couldn’t have this past quarter, I squeezed them all into 1 week.  It was tiring, but it was so good.

  • 11/07/2014 Friday (night, after the exam)
    • A few of us went out to a pizza place.  It was really good, especially the seafood pizza.
    • There was some school party thing at some bar in the city.  It was pretty fun, although I don’t drink a lot or dance.  I think mostly I just needed to get out of this nothingness of North Chicago and see a different part of the world.
  • 11/08/2014 Saturday
    • I went to a meeting for KAMSA Chicago (Korean American Medical Student Association).  They had interesting speakers about their clinical research, and it was great to meet other Korean American medical students.
  • 11/09/2014 Sunday
    • After church, a few of us went shopping.  I needed to buy more long-sleeved things.  We had dippin’ dots and watched Interstellar.  I was really impressed with the movie.  That special relativity class in college sure paid off.
  • 11/10/2014 Monday
    • I got my car oil changed.
    • I cleaned my apartment and did laundry.  It was symbolic of me putting my life back together.
    • For dinner I bought fried chicken with coupons, beer, some vegetables, in the low lighting of the night and listened to Michael Bolton all by myself.
  • 11/11/2014 Tuesday
    • Got something else taken care of in my car in the morning.
    • Tried to study some stuff.  Mostly wasted time on the internet.
    • Watched Fury with a friend.  Twas a man-date.  The one and only thing I took away from that movie was that war is tragic.  Sadness.
  • 11/12/2014 Wednesday
    • A bunch of friends from school got together at a Mexican restaurant and I was very impressed.  The guacamole was great and the grilled fish tacos I had were also great.
    • Afterwards some of us went to a Korean market (H-Mart).  I was out of Korean rice and kimchi and other Korean essentials, so that was very much necessary.
    • Right after getting home and stuffing the fridge with my groceries as quickly as possible, I drove down to Evanston to meet a Korean friend from college days, who goes to Northwestern now.  He bought me dinner at a Korean restaurant, which was actually really good.  It’s hard to find good Korean food here, but I was thoroughly impressed.  It was also so good to reconnect with an old friend.  I drove home that night tired but so filled with brotherly love.
  • 11/13/2014 Thursday
    • I drove down to University of Chicago medical school to meet up with a high school friend.  He showed me around his campus, which is so much better than mine, and he bought me lunch at some sandwich place that reminded me of AP European History.  It was really good to see him, and to see what other med schools are like.
    • My church Bible study group had dinner at a Chinese restaurant.  I had so much food and it was so good.  The jiajiangmyun was just ok, but everything else was great.  Oh yeah, it was also a great time having a time of good fellowship with church people.  Oops.
  • 11/14/2014 Friday
    • Our pastor from church came up to the nothingness of North Chicago to visit.  We took him to one of the few good lunch places here and we got to know each other better.  It was cool to hear his life story and etc.
    • Right after that I drove up to Madison, Wisconsin to visit an old college friend who is now a PhD student in chemistry there.  We had dinner at some Afghani restaurant, and we talked a lot.  She then took me to a coffee shop where we played board games with her frineds.  Then we went to her apartment to watch Little Shop of Horrors.
  • 11/15/2014 Saturday
    •   After sleeping on my friend’s couch I studied a bit because my friend and her roommate didn’t wake up until past 11AM.  We had brunch/lunch and had some pleasant conversations about apple butter.  Then my friend took me to see the capital building of Wisconsin, which was super fantastically pretty, with lots of Ws everywhere and badger busts everywhere.  Then we went to eat fried cheese curds and drink Wisconsin beer, because those are the things that Wisconsin is known for.
    • Then I drove back to Illinois and picked up some friends (the same friends I went shopping with on Sunday) and took them to my apartment for dinner.  We made tofu kimchi and it was gloriously good.  It’s nice to cook with/for people for a change.

Whew that was a lot of jammed packed adventurous week.  I think definitely the appeal of adventure is new places to see and the people you meet along the way.  Although my fall break may be over now, I am very thankful for all the people who made this week memorable.

Simeon Koh

