Tags

For anyone who hasn’t been following this “Not Being Late” series, you might want to check out at least my first post to see what the heck I’m talking about.

I have passed one month of not being late to anything!  It’s so weird that I haven’t had to punish myself in over a month.  As my reward, I got a late pass, which I used last night when I was going to be 5 minutes late to a book study/prayer group meeting.  My streak lives on!

Today, let me point out some of the things I’ve experienced so far:

 

1)  Being on-time is becoming a habit

I no longer have to try so hard to get somewhere on time.  My mind now just assumes of course I’ll be there on time.  Of course I should account for extra few minutes in my drive.  Why the heck would I not?  That is a new Simeon right there.  Once something becomes a habit, it stays for a long time.  I have a good feeling that after 2014, I won’t have to tell myself to be on time to things.  I’ll automatically do it.

 

2)  Being on-time brings peace

The Simeon of 2013 was always stressed and rushed while driving, because Google Maps would prophesy that I would be 2 minutes late, and I refused to acknowledge technological prophesies.  I would fight Google Maps, as if my willpower and rushed heart could bend the very fabric of reality that is LA traffic.

But when you have plenty of time, you’re a much more Christ-like person.  Oh LA traffic?  No matter how hard you try, you can’t stop me from being on time.  Oh this guy who suddenly gets in front of me?  Yeah sure go ahead!  I have plenty of time!  But you, man, look like you’re late to something.  Tsk tsk.  Good luck, because you’ll need it more than I do.  Oh an elderly grandma crossing the road very slowly?  May God bless your soul.  I no longer have any desire to run you over in order to get to my destination faster.

Ah such peace that comes when one is in control of his own time!

 

3) Initially not being on time brings increased pressure, but eventually leads to quiet acceptance

On days when I’m really close to being late, I get double the pressure.  Nobody cares I’ll be 60 seconds late to my work, but unfortunately I very much do.  If I’m late, there are 10 terrifying punishments waiting for me.  What will it be this time?!  More physical brutality?  Writing 250 sentences?  Would I have to eat a lemon?  I need to speed more!  More!  Morrrreee!!!

Then I hit a red light.  A thousand calculations run through my head.  Probability of arriving on time = 0.0000.  A strange calmness covers me as I sigh and accept the futility of my efforts.  I can’t win every race.  Yes, there will be punishments; but tomorrow I will be on time.  That’s just how the cookie crumbles.

 

Simeon Koh

 

 

