Tags

Casper: No, but aren’t you forgetting something?
Carrigan Crittenden: What?
Casper: Your unfinished business.
Carrigan Crittenden: My what?
Kat: You know, unfinished business. All ghosts have unfinished business. That’s why they don’t cross over.

– from the movie Casper (1995)

***

2014.03.07 Unfinished Business Rubik's Cube

So many times in life I find something in my life that I started with great excitement but never saw it to finish.  I don’t play drums anymore, I don’t blog as much, I have still 17 our of 19 things left on my bucket list, I still have childhood dreams unfinished, I never get around to putting bajillion cool ideas to life, I have letters to write back to people (that I’ve procrastinated on for several months), I need to resume studying Spanish again, and I counted 40+ books on my shelf that I’ve never opened/finished…

While I recognize that some things in life should be left unfinished and that it’s good to try many things to figure out what we’re really interested in, I do have a problem with my tendency to jump from one thing to another frivolously.  When I do that, I don’t truly come to understand the value of the thing, and I get in the bad habit of letting my laziness trump my perseverance.

***

So as my first unfinished business to finish, I chose to learn how to solve a Rubik’s cube.  I bought my Rubik’s cube in 11th grade (2006-2007) because for some reason it got somewhat popular at school, and it looked smart.  I used the solution guide to solve it and even then it was kind of confusing and easy to mess up.  I think I eventually got to being able to do it, but not consistently without looking at the solution guide.  Then I quickly lost interest and forgot even more quickly.

I recently relearned and memorized how to solve my Rubik’s cube.  I practiced while I was watching Korean TV shows on YouTube, and now I can do it without the manual consistently!  Success!

Stay tuned for more unfinished business coming your way.

What are some of your unfinished businesses?

Simeon Koh

 

 

