Tags

,

My last post was 3 weeks ago, and I’m very behind on this supposedly “weekly” poems…  I had written them or drafted them in my head, but I haven’t had a chance to post them.  My sincere apologies.  I’ll be posting the next 4 poems daily in order to catch up.  Stay tuned.  I have them all written, but didn’t want to bore you with 4 poems at once.

***

Mr. Grasshopper

by Simeon Koh

Broken wing, broken body
He was done for
Only could twitch and struggle
Until death swoops down and ends it

Poor Mr. Grasshopper
Maybe I should walk over and give him my foot
Put him out of his misery
But he was too far
So I kept on jogging

Live on, Mr. Grasshopper!
While there is breath passing through your spiracles
And beneath your broken body your spirit holds
Live on, Mr. Grasshopper!
Today is what yesterday’s dead had so desperately wanted
Live on, Mr. Grasshopper!
For even as you lie dying, the world s still yours to live.

***

Simeon Koh

2013Poetry18

 

 

