Tags

Firstly, I apologize for skipping my weekly update on my P90Xing.  I got a little busy and I was like ah what the heck I’ll just do a double wombo combo blog post later.  So here is that double wombo combo.  I’ll try my best to keep up with my blogging in the future.

***

Week 4 was a recovery week, which marked the end of Stage 1 (out of 3) in the P90X program.  After the first 3 weeks of cruel punishment and damage, they let you recover a bit so that your meat is fresh for more pounding.  But so-called recovery week wasn’t that easy either.  There was still a workout everyday… they were just not P90X-supa-intense.

< Schedule for Week 4 (Recovery Week) >

Monday:  [ Yoga X ]
Tuesday:  [ Core Synergistics ]  (new exercise!  Basically a bunch of core exercises.)
Wednesday:  [ Kenpo X ]
Thursday:  [ X Stretch ]
Friday:  [ Core Synergistics ]
Saturday:  [ Yoga X ] …. on this day I walked the Color Run 5K, so I thought that was good enough.  Whatevers.
Sunday:  [ X Stretch ]

I really appreciated Week 4.  It was nice to have a moderate workout schedule for a change, and definitely my body needed the recovery.  I often forget that the point of working out is so that our body can recover (and afterwards be stronger).  Good sleep, nutrition, and scaling things back a bit may feel like slacking off, but nonetheless a crucial part of your workout program.

***

Week 5 started the Stage 2 of the P90X program, which introduces a couple new workouts so that your body needs to adapt to different exercises and usage.  Although the new workouts killed me not-very-softly, it was good to be challenged I guess.  Also, definitely the recovery week had very noticeable results in my energy and strength (which got quickly smooshed by the new workouts).

< Schedule for Week 5 >

Monday – [ Chest, Shoulders, & Triceps + Ab Ripper X ]  (new workout!)
Tuesday – [ Plyometrics ]
Wednesday – [ Back & Biceps + Ab Ripper X ]  (new workout!)
Thursday – [ Yoga X ]
Friday – [ Legs & Back + Ab Ripper X ]
Saturday – [ Kenpo X ]
Sunday – [ Rest ]  (I had the option to rest or do Stretch X, but I just rested)

It’s interesting how as you get stronger (and rested), your workouts don’t get any easier because now you can work yourself harder than before.  For example, for the Ab Ripper X exercises, I decided to strap on 1lb ankle weights to each of my ankles to make it supa intense.  Oy the pain.  I understand now why when you get fat all the weight goes to your torso instead of your limbs… because or else your life would get really difficult really quickly.

Anyways, I don’t really have much interesting stuff to say, other than that it hurts and I wish it wasn’t so.  But too bad I’m 5/13 of the way through.  I can’t possibly quit now.

Simeon Koh

