Tags

“There is a lot more in him than you guess, and a deal more than he has any idea of himself.”

– Gandalf, from The Hobbit (Ch 1, “An Unexpected Party”)

***

A lot of us probably have “exercise,” or something along that line, on your new year’s resolutions list.  Me too.  I recently quit my gym membership, so now I have to exercise freely.  So why not make it intense and crazy?!

Now, I’m not the first picture people conjure up when they think, ‘P90X.’  In fact, when people think, ‘Simeon,’ they probably think of a short cute tender little man with sizeable cheeks, nibbling on cookies or something, which is quite far from P90X.  Many of you probably watched an infomercial about P90X or heard rumors about Paul Ryan’s P90X abs.  Regardless of where you heard about P90X, you probably heard that it’s intense – and that is true.

Not many people know that I already did P90X a couple years ago, probably because I do NOT look like Tony Horton (the creator of P90X)… yet.  Last time I did P90X, I was new to this whole exercise thing, and I wasn’t strong enough to get the most out of some exercises (like pull ups).  However, I do remember feeling, for the first time in my life, like I had control of my entire body.

Anyways, this is round 2 at P90X, and since I’m stronger and more experienced than before, I expect more results.

***

I completed 8 days out of 91 (13 wks * 7 days/wk = 91 days, but admittedly P91X doesn’t sound as cool), and Week 1 went like this:

Day 1 – [ Chest & Back + Ab Ripper X ]  An hour of push ups and pull ups, topped with a 17-min ab ripping painful torture exercise.

Day 2 – [ Plyometrics ]  An hour of jumping like a mad man inside my house.  This is the hardest workout in the program.

Day 3 – [ Shoulders & Arms + Ab Ripper X ]  Working on the upper body strength that I don’t have.  I have much to gain in my biceps and shoulders.

Day 4 – [ Yoga X ]  This yoga is not peaceful at all.  An hour and a half of sweat pouring down like God’s grace and mercy.

Day 5 – [ Legs & Back + Ab Ripper X ]  Single leg wall squats will kill you.  Top it off by ripping your abs out of your torso.

Day 6 – [ Kenpo X ]  Martial arts turned into a cardio workout.  Probably the least physically intense, but difficult because I lack coordination.

Day 7 – [ Stretch X ]  An hour of stretching.  It’s surprising how many things there are to stretch in your body.

Day 8 is the beginning of Week 2, which repeats everything in Week 1.

***

In summary, a successful week of workouts.  Definitely killing my body and takes a significant amount of time, but it’ll be good for me.  I’ll write another post at the end of Week 2 with some more on my P90X adventures.

How are your exercise goals going?

Simeon Koh

 

