Tags

,

One literary adventure series I am starting this year is to write a poem every week.  Back in the Art of Manliness challenge days when I had to memorize the poem “If” I was inspired to be better with my words.  When I think poetry I usually think of cheesy things that nobody in their normal activities would say, but I remember reading Shel Silverstein (Falling Up, Where the Sidewalk Ends, and A Light in the Attic) as a boy and loving his poems.  And “If” by Rudyard Kipling is something I would never be able to even come close to.

Anyways, enough about that.  I don’t expect many of my 52 poems would be very good, but my hope is that some would be decent and that maybe one or two would be beautiful.

***

Two Thousand Thirteen

by Simeon Koh

The world did not end!
Which means I can’t slack off anymore, saying,
‘The world’s gonna end anyways!’
It means I have to think about
The future and stuff
What I’m going to do and who I want to be.

The world still goes on!
Which means I have time to do more things, saying,
‘I still have time left here on earth.’
It means I want to figure out
The mysteries of life or something
Find adventures and go where nobody has gone before.

But the world might still end!
Which means all that I know and all that I love, surely,
Will slip away when my time has run out.
It means I need to make the most of
My present.
What must I do with this which, too, shall pass?

***

Simeon Koh

2013Poetry01

