“As long as you love me, we could be starving, we could be homeless, we could be broke.  
As long as you love me, I’ll be your platinum, I’ll be your silver, I’ll be your gold.  
As long as you lo-lo-lo-lo-lo-lo-lo-lo-lo-lo-lo-lo-lo-love me”

Justin Bieber, from “As Long as You Love Me”

***

Today’s Art of Manliness assignment was to write a love letter, or a love poem if, like me, you don’t have somebody to write a love letter to.  I don’t think I’ve ever written one, and I’m afraid of sounding a bit too comical or over-the-top cheesy, but so be it.  It’s Day 28 and too late to turn back.  Note that this following poem is 100% fiction (which is probably why it was so dang difficult to write).  I thought I was a good writer, but it turns out writing romantic things is quite a different beast.

***

Progressions of a Particular Woman

Saw you at the dining hall
Tweeting or something.
Rainy day of last year’s fall.
A stranger at the dining hall;
Nobody to me;
Girl I didn’t know at all.
Every so often I’d see you in places,
Randomly wherever my head faces.

Funny I met you in one of my classes-
Rhetoric of English Poetry.
I remember that day I sat on your sunglasses.
Everyone stared at the shattered lens,
Not sure what to do:
Day we somehow became friends.

Life with you is all I could ever want.
Or is it all I ever need when life still hurts?
Verbalizing my feelings is tricky with this font.
Eloquence escapes me whenever I try to put in words
Rainy day of last year’s fall.

***

Simeon Koh

 

