Today’s Art of Manliness assignment was to write my own eulogy, which I’m glad did not fall on my birthday next Tuesday…  It felt weird, but it was good to evaluate whether the life I am living would be worth being remembered by ones I love.  I wrote this from a 3rd-person’s perspective, pretending that Simeon suddenly died today at age 22.  I fear I’m a bit too funny in parts of my eulogy, but it doesn’t sound too light-hearted (I think).

***

Simeon Koh was a bright student: high school valedictorian and graduate of Harvey Mudd College.  He was a funny man, with an unusual talent for choosing the most bizarre ways of saying just about anything.  He was adorable, and fully embraced his charm to coax out more love from our busy lives.  He was a Godly man, devout in his Christian faith and dedicating his life to be more like Christ.  And lastly, his life can be best described as “slow and steady”.  In his works, his running, and his choices, Simeon was never the fast and flashy type, but always inching towards good.

I would further explain that Simeon was always so incredibly mellow that it was quite funny, actually.  When the most exciting things would happen, while everyone else would scream and jump around, and Simeon would simply smile and in his quietly excited voice say, “This is so exciting.”  When he played drums for worship at church, worship leaders would find themselves in the most unusual position of having to tell the drummer to play louder at church.

But with his mellow-ness came this invincible spirit of peace.  In the most stressful times in college, you could catch him frazzled, but carrying on like no problem in this world could take him out.  He found ways to shrug off the heavy burdens, and roll with the blows.

And thanks to his easy-going personality and knack for being a nice guy all the freaking time, he was a friend to many, and enemy to none (or very few I think).  I don’t think it was ever his intention to be hated by so few, but rather this was just a byproduct of Simeon having found something to love in everybody.

To use an analogy, I would say that Simeon was the turtle walking on the righteous path.  Slowly but steadily his life reflected what he believed and valued, which was to be right in the eyes of God and his own conscience.  To use another analogy, Simeon was not the action potential down the nervous system, but the hormone secreted by the endocrine system.  While not the most quick and electrifying fellow, he slowly traveled around touching the lives of all kinds of folks in a way that will last a long, long while.  Then to use my third and last analogy, Simeon’s life could be modeled by the simple equation y = ln(x).  If the x-axis is time and the y-axis is Simeon’s awesomeness, the graphical representation of his life would show that if Simeon could live forever, his awesomeness would have continued without limits.

By the way, I apologize if those analogies were nerdy and bizarre.  I did it because if Simeon were alive, he would have wanted them this way.

In his short 22 years, Simeon had accomplished much and left us with much more.  But at the same time I can’t help but mourn for the loss of a young life that left so much undone.  He will never again write another blog post about his bizarre adventures; he will never accomplish the 17 things still left in his bucket list; and he will never again work, play, and live among us.  I wish Simeon could have peacefully ended his race in old age, after a hearty meal at Denny’s or something; he loved to order grits there.  I had always believed that slow and steady wins the race, but I guess life doesn’t always end like children’s stories.

***

Simeon Koh

