Today’s Art of Manliness assignment was to express my gratitude.  I would not be the man that I am today without all these things and more.  And I would not be the man I could be tomorrow without acknowledging them today.

Part 1:  List 10 things that I’m grateful for.

  1. I’m thankful for having known a friend throughout college whom I enjoy talking to for almost 2 hours at Tea Station.
  2. I’m thankful for wonderful music I can enjoy everyday (currently listening to Fort Minor on Spotify).
  3. I’m thankful that my mom paid $11,000 for my car down payment.
  4. I’m thankful for people who have been reading my blog posts.
  5. I’m thankful that my parents made me take piano lessons when I was too young to appreciate them.
  6. I’m thankful for a sister whom I can cuddle next to and watch Epic Mealtime with.
  7. I’m thankful for the high-quality home-cooked Korean cuisine prepared for me everyday.
  8. I’m thankful for the Nintendo Wii and Anipang that enabled my family to have so much fun together.
  9. I’m thankful for the amount of financial aid I’ve received in my 4 years at Harvey Mudd.
  10. I’m thankful for air conditioning.

***

Part 2:  Thank 3 people.

Patrick Chen.  Patrick, in high school after cross country/track practice you drove Elfego and I to our houses every single day.  Elfego and I lived only 2 blocks away from school, so you could have just let us walk, but you took it upon yourself to drive us without fail.  Thank you for your service and the friendship you invested in me throughout high school.  I will forever treasure all the good times we had fooling around at the parking lot after practice, going to 7-eleven for a slurpee, or just being super tired together after a hard workout.  If you ever need a ride, never hesitate to call me for one, because I owe you big time.

Jason Santiago.  Jason, you have been my biggest mentor at Harvey Mudd.  Thank you for all the meals you have bought me — showing me all the good places to eat at, and simultaneously introducing me into good company.  I also remember your advice to take Real Analysis with all my Mudd friends instead of taking it alone at Pomona.  It was perhaps the single best advice I’ve received on class scheduling in college.  Lastly, I thank you for introducing me to Triple Town and all the pertaining wisdom you’ve bestowed upon me.

Scott Mackie.  Scott, thank you for explaining Jesus to me during my middle school years.  I remember being really confused in the early days of your preaching at church, but over the years while listening to your explanation of Jesus’s Sermon on the Mount and all that, I began to discover who Jesus really was.  I can’t say I remember specific details of your preaching (haha), but you should know that you were influential in starting up my intellectual curiosity about this man Jesus.  My faith and theology today would not have been what it is without the strong foundation you helped build during those years.

Simeon Koh

