Today’s adventures included playing ultimate frisbee at the park and learning how to do a cartwheel.

I was a timid and inactive child, thus never had the courage to do cartwheels at an age more appropriate for practicing such things.  Even as a grown-up, when people like Colleen Moore would do cartwheels, I would watch in awe but be too chicken to try it myself.  So I decided that needed to change, and had wonderful friends Jessica Men and Edward Wang to coach me.

It was actually not as difficult as I expected.  After a few tries, I was doing almost-good cartwheels.  I can’t do them well, but I think I just need more practice.  But it felt good to realize that I can spin my body in a way that is in no way beneficial to improving my evolutionary fitness.

***

Another important physical accomplishment happened today during ultimate frisbee.  But before I get to that, let me talk about this inspiring man named Richard Wang.

During the summer mission trip I did, we played ultimate frisbee at the park.  I was guarding this handsome male organism called Richard, who was chasing after a flying frisbee.  Despite our high velocity movement, it seemed like Richard was going to just miss the frisbee.

Then this man did one of the most amazing things I’ve ever seen.  Richard, who is of much superior physique than I am, dove for the frisbee, caught the impossible, did a ninja roll like a boss to break his fall, got on his knees and threw a pass.  I couldn’t believe that a human being was capable of doing something like that.

Since then, every time I’ve played ultimate frisbee and I run to catch a touchdown throw coming just a step too short, I have replayed that moment in my head.  Could I dive for the frisbee too?  It was a scary thought (and almost certain to fail).  I was too chicken to try.

Today I was once again running at my top speed trying to catch a frisbee flying towards the goal, and I knew that I was going to just miss it.

Then I dove like Richard.

I was tired of always missing those long passes.  I was tired of pretending like I played hard, when in reality I had nothing to show for all the chasing I did.  I was going for the most gloriously epic catch of the day.

As was almost certain, I missed the frisbee by an inch or so.  Instead of doing a ninja roll like a boss, my body shot across the grass, leaving green stains on my shirt.  There was no goal to show for my dive.

But I was happy.  I was still nowhere near the skills of Richard Wang, but I am now less afraid of making the jump that’s so counter-intuitive to human survival instinct.

Today, I dove like Richard.

Simeon Koh

