“This is a story of how a Baggins had an adventure, and found himself doing and saying things altogether unexpected.”  – from The Hobbit

***

Lately, I’ve been quite busily idle at home.  I don’t have a job (yet), but I’ve been running errands for my parents, learning how to not suck at swimming, reading things, hanging out with high school friends, etc.  Yet I’ve felt extremely stagnant and stuck in the idleness of my life.  I appreciate the time I have to roll around the house playing games on my phone with my mother, but I can’t stop feeling like I was meant for something more.  Something epic, ya’ know?

Note that I am almost never bored because I have a million and one things that I want to do in life.  However, a man without a mission is the very definition of futility.  I may currently look like I’m doing various things (indeed I am), but they’re scattered and directed at all over the place.  In a way, a man’s works are like vectors; unless they are aligned together, their amplitudes cancel out and he may just as well have been doing nothing.  In the end these merely make for a million and one lame stories that nobody wants to hear.  In short, there is no epicness.

So this is my mission: to search for that missing epicness.  Here I will post the various accounts, thoughts, feelings, and achievements of my adventures.  I have asked for various ideas via Facebook, and here are suggestions so far (I’m open to more!):

  1. Be a better man in 30 days.
  2. Supersonic skydiving.  (I won’t be doing this anytime soon…)
  3. Apply for a job on a cruise ship.
  4. Go through all of these books in 1 year.
  5. Consume the Ore Cart at a local Claim Jumper (2724 calories!!!).
  6. Visit friends (Yale; Madison; Claremont; Argentina; Colorado).
  7. Write a novel (I guess a blog will do…).
  8. Cliff jumping.
  9. Climb Mt. Everest (like Bear Grylls).
  10. Run through the Incan ruins in Peru.
  11. Go zip-lining in Hawaii.
  12. Climb a 14er in Colorado (I don’t even know what a 14er is…).
  13. Odessa Catacombs while sober.
  14. Apply to be on a reality TV show.
  15. Sleep on the streets with the homeless for a night.
  16. Sky diving (I’ve done that already) or Flying Squirrel Suit Gliding thing.

Alas, I am a man of finite resources, physique, and time, but I’ll take some of these on and perhaps add a few of my own as I think of them.

Wish me luck!

Simeon Koh
 

P.S.  In case anybody was wondering, the blog’s title is inspired by J.R.R. Tolkien’s book The Hobbit because this, too, is about a short hairy man looking for adventure.

